What Is Gossip, Anyway?

2-2013 No_chat

So what is gossip anyway? The first thought that comes to mind is that it is ‘talking behind someone’s back.’ But that doesn’t satisfy a lot of scenarios:

  1. What if I’m telling another parent how proud I am of my son? Isn’t that talking behind my son’s back?
  2. What if I’m criticizing the President?
  3. What if I’m concerned about a friend who’s depressed and I’m seeking advice?
  4. What if a woman is sharing with a friend how much in love she is with a man she’s seeing?
  5. What if I’m venting about the driver who cut me off on the highway?

Gossiping typically involves the following ingredients:

  1. Talking about a specific person when they are not present.
  2. Is negative in that it makes the other person looks worse.
  3. Is ill-intentioned.
  4. Makes you look better.
  5. Occurs during idle time.
  6. Involves trivial things. ­
  7. Is frequently speculative.
  8. Centers around personal matters.

Let’s consider these seeds whenever we are talking about someone else, and what fruits those seeds might produce.

If you would like to receive an email notification when a new post is added, click the Follow button in the sidebar window. Act now!

One thought on “What Is Gossip, Anyway?

  1. Herslf

    Not sure I would consider all of your examples as gossip. What if a parent is proud of his son’s accomplishments. people gather with one another to share the good things in their lives and the not so good. I consider this a support system which we all need . What is left to talk about with friens and family. this is not gossiping,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

